Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Elements of Music and other Classical Music topics.

What is a sonata?


The classical sonatas of Haydn and Mozart were composed for solo instrumentalist, or solo with piano accompaniment and were generally written in three movements. The first movement, sonata-form; the second movement, slow and introspective; and the final movement, a rondo to bring the piece to a lively conclusion.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Classical Music Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Christina Chan