The Ring

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Opera and other Classical Music topics.

What is the Ring Cycle?

The Ring

Richard Wagner (1813-1883) is the composer of the "Ring of the Nibelung." The Ring Cycle is based on Norse mythology and consists of four operas, Das Rheingold, Die Walkure, Siegfried, and Gotterdammerung. Using a system of leitmotifs, or musical themes, Wagner combines the drama and the music into one single dramatic idea.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Classical Music Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Patricia Walters-Fischer