Brahms, Symphony No. 4

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Books, Scores, and Music and other Classical Music topics.

Where can I find more information on musical scores?

Brahms, Symphony No. 4

Composer, Johannes Brahms (b.1833 d.1897), has been considered one of the world's greatest symphony composers. In his lifetime he wrote four symphonies, it is noted that a reading of Sophocles' play, Oedipus Rex, inspired his final symphonic work. Many orchestral scores are available in their entirety with historical essays and the original markings from the composer themselves. The Fourth Symphony (Opus 98) is available in an edition published by Norton Critical Scores.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Classical Music Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Linda Handiak